206
votes

I'm using IntelliJ 10 IDEA Ultimate Edition.

I've created a new file Test.py, and IntelliJ has correctly switched to Python parsing mode. (I can confirm this by typing "d", it pops up "def" as a suggestion, and hitting tab correctly gives me "def :")

However, when I try this code...

import os

cwd = os.getcw <Ctrl-space>

Two things happen....

  1. I get a squggly underline underneath os and hovering over it gives me a "Unresolved reference 'os'" message
  2. I get no suggestions hitting Ctrl-space above, when I'm expecting to see "getcwd".

I'm assuming that this must be a result of my not configuring IntelliJ properly in order to handle python modules, but I have no idea what it is I'm missing.

Any IntelliJ/Python users able to help me out?

12

12 Answers

211
votes

Just create and add Python SDK

File -> Project Structure -> Project -> Project SDK -> new

and select the installation path of your Python interpreter (for example, C:\Python26 in windows and /usr/bin/python2.7 in Linux) as the home path.

Related discussion: http://devnet.jetbrains.net/thread/286883

144
votes

Have you set up a python interpreter facet?

Open Project Structure CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+S

Project settings -> Facets -> expand Python click on child -> Python Interpreter

Then:

Project settings -> Modules -> Expand module -> Python -> Dependencies -> select Python module SDK

86
votes

If your Python SDK is properly configured and you are still facing the problem that builtins are not recognized, try this:

File -> Invalidate Caches/Restart
19
votes

Here's what I had to do. (And I probably forgot an important aspect of my problem, which is that this wasn't set up as a Python project originally, but a Java project, with some python files in them.)

Project Settings -> Modules -> Plus button (add a module) -> Python

Then, click the "..." button next to Python Interpreter.

In the "Configure SDK" dialog that pops up, click the "+" button. Select "Python SDK", then select the default "Python" shortcut that appears in my finder dialog

Wait about 5 minutes. Read some productivity tips. :)

Click Ok

Wait for the system to rebuild some indexes.

Hooray! Code hinting is back for my modules!

5
votes

Another possible fix (solved my problem)

You might have configured the environment properly but for some reason it broke along the way. In this case go to:

file > project settings > modules

Deploy the list of SDKs and look for a red line with [invalid] at the end. If you find one, you have to recreate a python sdk.

It is likely that your previously working SDK is there too, but not red. Delete it.

Now you can click on the new button and add your favorite python virtualenv. And it should work now.

4
votes

Few steps that helped me (some of them are mentioned above):

Open project structure by:

command + ; (mac users) OR right click on the project -> Open Module Settings

  1. Facets -> + -> Python -> <your-project> -> OK
  2. Modules -> Python -> <select python interpreter>
  3. Project -> Project SDK -> <select relevant SDK>
  4. SDKs -> <make sure it's the right one>

Click OK.

Open Run/Debug Configurations by: Run -> Edit Configurations

  1. Python Interpreter -> <make sure it's the right one>

Click OK.

1
votes

This is how i solved my problem (i have imported the project and it was showing there only, newly created files were not showing those errors):

1) Command + alt + R (Control in case of windows

2) Debug window will appear, select your file and press right arrow (->) and choose Edit then press enter (Edit configuration setting window will appear)

3) Under configuration, at the bottom you can see the error (please select a module with a valid python sdk), So in Python Interpreter, check Use Specified Interpreter, then in drop down you select your Python version

(In case python is not there download python plugin for intelliJ using following link https://www.jetbrains.com/help/idea/2016.3/installing-updating-and-uninstalling-repository-plugins.html

4) Click on apply then close it.

Bingo it's done.

1
votes

(solved my problem) File -> Project structures -> Modules -> Add (small plus sign) -> Import Module -> Add the path contains the files (e.g. src/mymodule) -> Create Module from existing sources -> Next -> next -> Finish. You should see a file with .iml in the directory where you cannot imoport; that should do the trick

0
votes

Use a Requirements File (see link to JetBrains documentation)

In my case I needed arrow. So, I added

arrow==0.7.0

to my projects requirements.txt

Then Intellij prompted me to add the library the first time that I wrote import arrow in a Python script

0
votes

My problem was similar to @Toddarooski 's, except that the module I had, under the "Dependencies" tab, had no SDK listed. I right clicked on 'SDK', picked edit from the drop down menu, and selected my Python SDK. That did the trick.

0
votes

I got it to work after I unchecked the following options in the Run/Debug Configurations for main.py

Add content roots to PYTHONPATH

Add source roots to PYTHONPATH

This is after I had invalidated the cache and restarted.

0
votes

Even my Intellisense in Pycharm was not working for modules like time Problem in my system was no Interpreter was selected Go to File --> Settings... (Ctrl+Alt+S) Open Project Interpreter

Project Interpreter In my case was selected. I selected the available python interpreter. If not available you can add a new interpreter.