When you get your access token from LinkedIn during the OAuth 2.0 flow, you will also be passed a parameter called expires_in which is the number of seconds until the token will expire.
If you track that value and know that you are nearing the token's expiry date before you attempt to use it, you can invisibly refresh the token without requiring any specific user interaction by simply sending the user through the authorization process again.
The authentication dialog box will be suppressed provided:
- the user is still logged into linkedin.com, and
- the token has not yet expired
See additional documentation here: https://developer.linkedin.com/docs/oauth2#refresh